Book of the Year (2017)

A few weeks ago for the last episode of The Geek Awakens we went around and discussed a few of the things that we remembered most about 2017.

On air I spoke about how Wonder Woman was probably the geek highlight of the year for me. And as far as movies go, I maintain that stance. There was little about it wasn’t phenomenal and exciting. But I would be remiss if I didn’t add to my choice from the show.

While I was thrilled with myself and my ability to read the books I did during the year there was one in particular that stood out to me. A God in the Shed by J-F Dubeau. A title produced by Inkshares (a crowdfunded publisher of sorts), blew me away. The book was exciting, haunting and profound. The book begins with the capture and arrest of a serial killer that has been terrorizing a small Canadian town for eighteen years. That’s how it starts! And it goes downhill from there. Secrets that should have remained buried are unearthed. A killer behind bars, but people continue to disappear and a creepy circus sets up camp on the edge of town. There are touches of Lovecraft, King, and Barker, all blended together magnificently with some thriller and crime novel aspects woven in as well.

Simply put, this is a book for anyone that enjoys any of those genres. (One small note, there is some gore, but if nothing out of the ordinary for fans of King or Barker.)

Two years in a row now, my favorite book has been one I’ve discovered through Inkshares. Like with all publishers, there will be some that stand heads above the rest, but two in a row is good enough odds for me to dig through their upcoming titles and read another.

Advertisements